commonwealth countries

Commonwealth admits Gabon and Togo 

Gabon and Togo have been admitted into the Commonwealth, following the acceptance of their application at the end of the bloc’s Heads of Government Meeting in Kigali, Rwanda. 

Isn’t the Commonwealth a bloc of Former British Colonies? 

Yes, the Commonwealth was established as an international body of former British territories, but its scope has expanded over time, with the inclusion of nations that weren’t former British territories. Gabon and Togo join other former French colonies like Cameroon, becoming the Commonwealth’s 55th and 56th members. 

What are the conditions for being admitted to the Commonwealth? 

Among other things, the eligibility requirements for acceptance into the Commonwealth state that a candidate nation must show a commitment to democracy and democratic processes, such as free and fair elections and representative legislatures, the rule of law and the independence of the judiciary, good governance, such as a well-trained public service and transparent public accounts, as well as protection of human rights, freedom of expression, and equal opportunity. 
What’s in it for Gabon and Togo? The Commonwealth promotes economic, social, and human rights advancement in its member nations, while also fostering international collaboration. Democracy, peace, and development are the core goals of the Commonwealth. The organization’s Secretary-General, Patricia Scotland, expressed her excitement over the new entrants. 

See also  Kenya: anxiety over presidential poll results 

Similar Posts