APC Presidential Primary: Aspirant Absent

One of the presidential aspirants of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Emeka Nwajiuba, was absent from the party’s convention and presidential primary election at the Eagles Square, Abuja.

Why was he absent?
No reason has been given, yet, for his absence. The absence of the former Minister of State for Education, who recently resigned in order to focus on his presidential ambition, was noticed when he was called to speak to party delegates at the convention Tuesday night, like his fellow aspirants.

How about the others?
Every other aspirant was present and spoke about their ambition as they solicited the votes of party delegates. Unsurprisingly though, some of the aspirants stepped down from the race and asked that their supporters cast their votes for the national leader of the party and former Lagos state governor, Bola Tinubu. They include Godswill Akpabio, Ibikunle Amosun, Kayode Fayemi, Dimeji Bankole, Ajayi Borofice, Abubakar Badaru, and the only female aspirant, Uju Kennedy Ohanenye.

And the winner?
The convention was still ongoing at the time of writing this report, and the result was yet to be announced. While one of the aspirants, Nicholas Felix, also stepped down (for Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo), others remained in the race. The delegates were subsequently urged to note the aspirants who stepped down and to cast their votes for only those remaining in the race. Aside from Tinubu and Osinbajo who had others step down for them, other candidates include; Dave Umahi, Ken Nnamani, Ogbonnaya Onu, Rotimi Amaechi, and Tunde Bakare, Ben Ayade, Rochas Okorocha, Tein Jack-Rich, Yaya Bello, and Ikeobasi Mokelu.

See also  2023: Tinubu urges Nigerians to focus on competence

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.