Mr. Biodun Oyebanji, candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), has won the governorship election in Ekiti state.

What are the figures?
Oyebanji, the immediate past Secretary to the State Government (SSG), polled 187,057 votes and had the majority of the votes cast in 15 of the 16 Local Government Areas of the state. In the second place, former governor Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) polled 82,211 votes, while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Bisi Kolawole, polled 67,457 votes to place third.

What was the process like?
While the election process was largely peaceful across the state, an election monitoring group, Yiaga Africa, denounced widespread voter inducement and bribery. However, in line with the new Electoral Act, results from the 16 local government areas of the state were uploaded on the Result Viewing Portal (IReV) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), before they were announced at the collation center.

Any words from the other candidates?
Some of the candidates in the election expressed dismay over widespread voter inducement. The SDP’s Segun Oni described vote-buying as a violation of the Electoral Act. Also, Dr. Wole Oluyede, the African Democratic Congress candidate, said those who took money do not want people to exercise their right to choose. “Whatever is the outcome of the election does not reflect good governance and the wishes of the people. It does not reflect a good election”, he said.

Banish the Heat with the Eden Power 296Wh Solar Inverter + DC Fan. To order, Click HERE 

Comes with an ergonomic, beautiful & distinguishable design with distinct easy-to-use features: – Crystal clear LED display – 1 AC Output (296W capacity) – 2 DC ports – 1 Cigarette lighter port – 2 USB ports – 1 USB-C port. For you to have any productive work done these days can be daunting and that is why we recommend an alternative source of power using our abundant sunlight. Edenpower’s products– the Portable Power Stations and the Solar Inverter provide power supply for work during the day and to banish heat and power your entertainment appliances at night. Why must you sleep in the heat after a hard day’s job? Hurry now to  and take advantage of their affordable Solar Inverters + DC Fans+ Portable Power Stations. To ask more questions, chat with a customer rep on WhatsApp.

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.