nff president

Ibrahim Gusau elected new NFF president

Ibrahim Gusau, Zamfara-state-born Football administrator and Chairman of Zamfara Football Association, has been elected as the new president of the Nigeria Football Federation, NFF.

Gusau was announced the winner of the NFF Elective Congress held at the Heritage Hotel in Benin City, the Edo state capital, where about 44 delegates across the county participated in the election.

How did he emerge a winner?

Gusau defeated nine other contestants polling 39 out of the 40 vote cast, to emerge the new NFF president. The election was done in two phases because none of the candidates were initially able to secure the 22 votes required to be declared the winner.

In the first round of the election, Gusau pulled 21 votes ahead of NFF’s first Vice Chairman, Seyi Akinwunmi’s 12 votes, Chairman of League Management Company, Shehu Dikko got six votes while former Super Eagles goalkeeper, Peterside  Idah and Chief of Staff to the Sports Minister, Abbah Yola both got one vote each.

Before the rerun, Seyi Akinwunmi, Shehu Dikko, and Abbah Yola dropped out of the race, making the contest to be between Ibrahim Gusau and Peterside Idah. After the rerun, Gusau increased his winning margin to 39 while Idah maintained his one vote. However, in a show of sportsmanship, Peterside Idah congratulated the new NFF president.

Who else was elected to the NFF executives?

Other people voted into the NFF executives are Felix Anyansi-Agwu; First Vice President, Ahmed Yusuf Fresh; Chairman of Chairmen, Margaret Icheen; North-Central, Babagana Kalli and Timothy Henman, North-East, Sharif Rabiu Inuwa; North-West, Essien Udofot, and Aisha Falode; South-South, Sunday Ajayi and Ganiyu Majekodunmi; South-West. The representative for South-East was suspended.

See also  Oleksandr Usyk defeats Anthony Joshua to retain world heavyweight titles.

Similar Posts